What is Mileage Reimbursement Rate for GA Workers Compensation?
When workers get hurt while on the job in Georgia, they may be eligible for workers’ compensation benefits. Many people in Georgia know that this compensation will cover things such as their medical expenses and even a portion of their lost income. However, what many people do not understand is that this type of compensation will also provide for mileage reimbursement, or the cost of getting to and from certain medical treatments. Georgia law allows injured individuals to claim up to $0.40 per mile traveled.
Workers’ compensation claims are not always easy to file, regardless of whether a worker is claiming mileage. For this reason, anyone hurt at work should speak to a Georgia workers’ compensation lawyer that can help them to file their claim and pursue all benefits which they are due.
To learn more about your rights as an injured worker, contact our experienced team at Adamson & Cleveland, LLC, today. We can provide a free consultation. We assist workers throughout Georgia.
What Medical Expenses and Treatment Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?
- 1 What Medical Expenses and Treatment Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?
- 2 What Type of Travel Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?
- 3 How Do You File a Mileage Reimbursement Claim?
- 4 How Long Does Workers’ Compensation Cover Mileage?
- 5 What Happens If an Insurance Company Denies My Mileage Reimbursement Claim?
- 6 Get Help from a Norcross Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
Medical expenses can quickly add up in Georgia. So, it is natural that injured workers wonder what type of medical costs and treatment are covered. In short, workers’ compensation will cover any medical treatment that is considered necessary and reasonable. This coverage includes the costs associated with any doctor’s visits and tests such as X-rays, MRIs and CT scans. It can also cover surgery, hospitalization, physical therapy prescriptions and more.
When alternative treatments are used, such as acupuncture, massage therapy or chiropractic care, the insurance company may be reluctant to pay them. Usually, when insurers do not want to pay these costs, they will claim that they are unsure that the treatments will be effective.
This hesitation on the part of insurers does not mean that injured workers cannot receive the compensation they need for these treatments. It just means that it may be more difficult to receive compensation. For this reason, it is particularly important to work with an attorney at Adamson & Cleveland, LLC, when seeking alternative treatment for a work-related injury. We will work hard to hold the insurance company accountable for paying for this type of treatment when it is needed.
What Type of Travel Does Workers’ Compensation Cover?
Workers’ compensation will cover many different types of travel for medical treatment. The reimbursement that most people typically think of is the cost of travel between their home and the location of their treatment, whether that is a hospital, physical therapy center or a doctor’s office. While workers’ compensation insurers will reimburse injured workers for these costs, they are also required to reimburse other travel costs as well.
For example, if an injured employee must travel four or more hours away from home to receive medical treatment, workers’ compensation must reimburse the cost of meals and lodging. Georgia law caps the amount reimbursed for meals at $30 per day. When treatment is 30 miles away, workers’ compensation must reimburse injured workers another $24 per treatment.
If you have to pay for parking in order to receive your medical treatment, you can also include this expense in your claim. Parking costs are paid dollar for dollar, but you must provide a receipt in order to recoup those costs.
How Do You File a Mileage Reimbursement Claim?
Filing a claim for mileage reimbursement is relatively easy. You must send a document to the insurer that clearly outlines the dates, places and the number of miles you have traveled for your medical treatment. Within that document, you must also ask for reimbursement of your costs.
How Long Does Workers’ Compensation Cover Mileage?
Many people that are injured at work understand that they have only a limited amount of time to file their workers’ compensation claim in order to pursue benefits which they need and deserve. However, many people do not understand that they also have a limited amount of time to send their request for mileage reimbursement as well.
Just like the statute of limitations on workers’ compensation claims is one year from the date of injury, injured workers also have only one year from the date of expense to send a request for mileage reimbursement. When injured employees do not file a request within this time period, the insurance company will likely refuse to reimburse for mileage. Insurance companies are always looking for ways to deny claims, and the expiration of the statute of limitations is one the courts will uphold.
What Happens If an Insurance Company Denies My Mileage Reimbursement Claim?
Insurance companies have only 15 days to provide injured workers with reimbursement for mileage. If an insurance company fails to pay you within this time limit, the insurer may owe you late penalties. The penalty will depend on the amount of time that has passed between you sending a request for reimbursement, and the insurance company providing it. The penalty can range anywhere from 10 to 20 percent of the total requested amount.
The amount of the penalty will increase if an insurance company waits an even longer amount of time to pay reimbursement. If a payment is made before it is 60 days late, a 10 percent penalty is applied. Payments that are between 60 and 90 days late will incur a 20 percent penalty. When reimbursement is more than 90 days late, the penalty applied is still 20 percent, but there is also a 12 percent per annum interest charge as long as the reimbursement is still late.
Insurance companies do not always want to pay this penalty. So, you should always speak to a workers’ compensation attorney that can help you to hold the insurance company accountable.
Get Help from a Norcross Workers’ Compensation Lawyer
If you have been injured at work and need to file a claim for compensation and for travel reimbursement, call our Norcross workers’ compensation attorneys at Adamson & Cleveland, LLC. We know how to hold insurance companies accountable for paying the benefits that our clients need and deserve. Contact us now to schedule a free consultation.
Alan is a Gwinnett County native who proudly serves his community and provides skilled representation to injury victims and their families as a founding partner of the personal injury law firm of Adamson & Cleveland, LLC. Alan earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Georgia and went on to graduate, summa cum laude, from Atlanta’s John Marshall Law School. He is also a graduate of Gerry Spence’s renowned Trial Lawyers College (TLC) in Wyoming. In his free time, Alan frequently speaks at continuing legal education seminars. He also volunteers as a youth baseball coach and assists his local high school’s moot court competition team.